Sunday, September 30, 2007

La Maison - That's French, Right?

The journey to someone's house is usually very simple and straightforward, as are most homes. The journey to La Maison (that's "the house" in French), however, takes one through the guts of the Trinoma Mall and through that lush garden/rainforest thing they have set up in the fine dining area, wasn't. After parking and figuring out where the restaurant area is, I being a newbie to Trinoma mall, ended up going the longer way to get to the restaurant, enjoying a short tour of the mall in the process. It didn't help that it was cold and I drank a lot of water before going but that's another story.

When we finally got to the lush restaurant area, with the plants and shooting fountains, we were greeted by the neon backlit sign announcing that La Maison was, "the home of the best ribs, steaks, and seafoods". Hmm.


I must confess, my hackles go up anytime anyone announces themselves as the best at anything. Including myself.

But, moving on, we sit down to a nice little table near the door, where I am instantly confused by the interior. There are brick walls, a set of blackboards announcing the specials, a display case with Toblerone inside, and another area with...palm trees? Oh, and there are upside down umbrellas hanging from the ceiling. Here, look.


Oohkaay. What is this place really?

It took me a couple of seconds to settle in. The name really does confuse. It's French, hence, associations with fine dining, waiters with thin mustaches and, if you saw the movie, cooking rats. But the decor, the dress of the waiters, and the general atmosphere of the place reminds one more of Fridays than, say, Je Suis Gourmand. Remove the name, however, and what we actually have is a casual dining restaurant from Cebu that did quite well for itself over yonder and decided to open up shop here. (See Franco for more details.)

With the French biases removed, we proceeded to the denim covered, buttoned menu. There are actually a lot of choices, from soups and salads to entrees and pasta. What interested me in particular, however, were the grilled dishes, with their varying serving sizes. Barkada sized meals are a good idea for any restaurant that wants plenty of diners, since Filipinos love to share meals. And, from what we've heard, the servings here aren't for the weak at heart.

But, since this time there were only two adults and a four year old, we decided to order simply.

Oh, they also supplied us with a loaf of bread and some balsamic dip. Cute, not terribly original, but cute.


The bread was unremarkable, but it can take the edge off when starving. As for the balsamic and olive oil dip, well, it was also OK, but nothing really great.

We ordered two regular dishes. The Dover Sole (P 275.00) and the Braised Baby Back Ribs (P350.00). We also got two orders of garlic rice, which set us back another P 90.00.

How was it?

Ok, Dover Sole first. It was lightly grilled and served with hollandaise sauce, I think. It was nice and delicate, the fish was cooked and seasoned just right, since sole is a rather delicate fish, I was glad they didn't salt the heck out of it. The sauce, however, was invisible.

For some reason, all that yellow stuff couldn't register on my tongue. It didn't really take anything away from the dish, but I had the feeling that the dish could have gone well without it. The execution of the dish couldn't be faulted, really, except that it wasn't delivering the experience I was hoping for.

And for garnish, they have a leaf of lettuce, an onion ring, and a slice of tomato

???

Maybe they'll do better with the meat.The braised baby back ribs were indeed nice. They cooked the meat well and the braising was able to prevent the meat from drying out in the grill. It was tender and tasty, so how come I was left wanting something else? Was it the honey-chilli dip? Oh, which my wife loved because it tasted like Cow Label.

That's right, you heard me, Cow Label. Doesn't inspire, does it? Oh, pay close attention to the pic above, and you'll see the same lettuce, onion, and tomato garnish. And the leaves all over the place I think is parsley. It's like it snowed parsley, actually. It was everywhere.

So, there was something amiss.


What was it, really? Their service was very good, with waiters that actually looked like they knew what they were doing, and liked doing it. The serving sizes were very good, the regular sized dishes, which we ordered, were plenty for us, I can only imagine how much more the larger servings would be. The dishes themselves were executed well, plated with only slight minus points for the micro-salad and the parsley blizzard. So, what was bothering me about it?

Two things, actually, stood out. One was, it was pricey. Yes, the servings were large and the dishes not commonly found elsewhere, but it felt pricey. Like it wasn't enough value for the amount of money being asked for. The other one was the fact that when there are claims to be things, like being French and being the best, my benchmark immediately goes up. And the thing about that is, unless I'm dazzled, I will almost definitely be nonplussed. Which is what happened here.

Is it good, then? Well, yes and no. It's a good dining place for large families or groups of friends looking to have something that is a little better than your common grill fare. My suggestion is to forget the associations with the name and go there instead with the mindset that it's a Filipino restaurant doing some interesting things. Because that's what it actually is. I think, with that in mind, its actually quite interesting and can be a great place to eat in.

Just remember however, it ain't French.

La Maison

2nd Level
Ayala Trinoma Mall
North Edsa, Quezon City
Telephone: (02) 916 6351
Telefax: (02) 916 7069

Ayala Center Cebu
Ayala Food and Entertainment Center
Cebu City, Cebu

Telephone: (032) 415-7077 to 78


Friday, September 28, 2007

Behind the Kitchen Doors: Chelsea Market and Cafe

Late Night at Chelsea

It started with an idea.

There is a growing fascination with chefs, their lives and their creations. With the advent of entire channels devoted to food like The Food Network and Discovery Channel: Travel and Living, the focus of the dining public is slowly shift from merely appreciating the food to finding more about the people who cook the cuisine and create the complete dining experience.

But what does it take to create the best experience for the customer? What makes or breaks a restaurant?

Over three days, my friend and photographer Erik Lacson and I visited Chelsea Market and Cafe at Serendra. Arriving at different times of day, we hoped to take a peek into the world that the normal diner rarely sees. We wanted to create a photo essay that illustrates the never- ending process of a restaurant. From early morning prep to closing time, what we learned is that the restaurant business is far from glamorous and it never ever stops.

And now, the idea is a photo post.

To take a look with us behind the kitchen doors, please click here.

Note: Once viewing the slideshow, click on the pictures to read more information


To the managers, chefs and service staff of Chelsea, thanks of letting us hang out and experience your world. And special thanks to Erik for making this crazy idea happen.

Wednesday, September 26, 2007

Table Recipes: Tuna Burger Patties


In the spirit of contributing things that may or may not look good, I have a recipe that I think anyone can do in a pinch (which I usually am in anyway). Here's what you need:
Tuna Burger Patties
makes 4

  • 1 184g can of tuna in brine or water (preferably in chunks)
  • 1-2 teaspoons of garlic salt (available in the spice section of the grocery)
  • 1/2 white onion (medium), diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped finely
  • 1/2 cup of unseasoned dry bread crumbs
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • In a bowl, mush up the tuna chunks until they are, well, mushy.

    If you want, to mellow the taste of the onions and garlic,you can sweat them lightly, Set them aside to cool. Add them to the mushy tuna and mix.

    Add the bread crumbs, then the garlic salt, then the egg. Mix until you have a hamburger-like mixture.

    Form into patties and fry until nice and golden brown.
    They go really well with ketchup, chili sauce, or honey mustard sauce. Sometimes, I add things like parsley or Parmesan cheese to change the flavor, but the basic recipe is the one above. Oh, and if you want a little New Orleans Crab Cake thing going, add mayo, about a tablespoon. Basically, it's something that has plenty of possibilities for customization so knock yourselves out.
    Did I mention they're yummy too? They are.

    Have fun!

    Sunday, September 23, 2007

    Table Recipes: Coffee Ice Cream with Dark Toblerone

    Coffee Ice Cream with Dark Toblerone

    It's been seven months.

    And in those the seven months online, we have not sauteed, baked, grilled, broiled, poached or even microwaved a damn thing. How exactly can you call yourself a food blog and not do the one thing that I think every food lover should at least try once in their life? So here it is. Table for Three, Please cooking ... or at least, making dessert.

    I have documented on this blog that I am obsessed with ice cream. Mostly because of a kitchen toy A. and I received as a wedding gift, a
    Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker (Many thanks to A and M). This matte, stainless steel rectangular box of ice cream making goodness has changed the way I view the ART of making ice cream. So much so that I have made up the Ice Cream Purchasing Rule: Do not buy what you can make yourself. In short, if the ice cream does not live up to a standard of what I can readily make at home, don't bother even looking at it.

    Yes, I am officially an ice cream snob.

    But trust me on this. If you knew what I know about how ice cream is made by most mass market brands, you would start making your own ice cream too.

    Couple of days ago, I decided to gift a friend of mine, E. with a tub of ice cream. But what flavor to make? Well, E. likes Toblerone and his girlfriend loves coffee. So why not make a coffee flavor ice cream with boat load of Toblerone chunks. And to make a bit more interesting, I decided to make it a custard based ice cream instead of an all cream ice cream.
    Coffee Ice Cream with Dark Toblerone Chunks
    Adapted from the Cuisinart Website
    • 2 1/4 cups of whole milk
    • 2 1/4 cups of heavy cream*
    • 1 1/8 cups of granulated sugar
    • 3-5 tablespoons instant espresso powder
    • 3 large eggs
    • 3 large egg yolks
    • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    • 7 ounces Dark Toblerone, chopped
    * You can subsitute this with whipping cream, if you like.
    Combine the the sugar,whole milk and heavy cream in a saucepan over medium-low heat Bring to simmer and stir until the sugar dissolves.

    Combine the espresso powder, eggs and egg yolks in a medium mixing bowl. With a hand mixer, beat until it has the consistence of mayonnaise.


    Measure out 1 cup of the hot cream/milk mixture. Using a hand mixer on low speed, fully incorporate the cup of hot cream mixture into the egg mixture in steady stream.


    When completely incorporated, pour the egg mixture back into the saucepan with the rest of the cream mixture and stir to combine. Over medium-low heat, cook and stir constantly until mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon.


    Strain the mixture into a bowl. Stir in the vanilla extract. Cover with a sheet of plastic wrap placed over directly on the custard and refrigerate until completely chilled.


    Once chilled, pour the custard mixture into the ice cream maker's freezing bowl. Freeze the custard mixture according to your ice cream maker's instructions. Minutes before your ice cream begins to resemble a soft serve ice cream, slowly add the chopped Toblerone and let it mix in completely.


    The ice cream will have a soft, creamy texture. If a firmer consistency is desired, transfer the ice cream to a airtight container and place in a freezer for about 2 hours. Remove from the freezer about 15 minutes before serving.

    Makes about 14 1/2 cup servings

    The end result? A very velvety smooth coffee flavored ice cream, balance out by crunchy chunks of bitter sweet chocolate goodness. Simple, sophisticated and just plain delicious.

    Many thanks to Erik Lacson for the photograph

    Sunday, September 16, 2007

    On the Table: Margaux Salcedo



    It started with a craving for Tsokolate Eh. While living with grand aunt, Nana Meng, Margaux Salcedo decided that her tsokolate was too good not share with rest of the world. From selling at bazaars, now Nana Meng Tsokolate is sold in two mall kiosks at the Salcedo Market every Saturday. A journalist, a lawyer, a food writer and now an entrepreneur, Margaux is helping keep a Pinoy culinary tradition alive and with her weekly column, (in the Sunday Inquirer Magazine) promote this country's culinary future.





    Of all the things you could write about, why food?


    Letty Magsanoc, EIC of Inquirer, made the decision for me. I actually wanted to write about politics/economics and government. I majored in economics and history in college and have a JD from Ateneo so I was hoping to go in that direction. My favorite columnists are Cruz, Monsod and Doronilla. The legacy I wanted to leave (when I was a college dreamer) was a contribution to government or (don't laugh) "nation building". Unfortunately, I don't think I give off a very serious vibe. I giggle too much. So I was typecast into the lifestyle section. Except I refused to write about events or beauty products. So LJM said, "Food. Would you like to write about food? We're looking to train someone to become the next Doreen." My eyes went thyroid-big in excitement when she said that and I said yes in a heartbeat, even if I knew no one would ever be able to fill those shoes. I said I'd at least try. Besides, I'd always loved Julia Roberts' role in My Best Friend's Wedding. And I love to eat out.

    Who are the food writers that inspire you?

    Doreen Fernandez, of course. I had been doing bits of food writing for Global Nation of Inquirer before joining PDI print and contributed pieces on a couple of restaurants and chefs but the first real piece I did about food was for the Doreen Fernandez Essay Writing Contest. The competition required sources and a basis for your statement and it was then that I realized that food writing could be serious business. I wouldn't have realized that without reading DF's books. After seeing through her works the great lengths she would go through to explain food, I gained a respect for food writing that has kept me inspired since.

    Of current writers, I love the way the Tayags write. Both Claude and his darleng Mary Ann. I also love the way Myrna Segismundo injects humor into her stories. Among the foreign critics, I'm a [Frank] Bruni fan, even if others dislike him for being too harsh. I like his humor - borderline sarcastic but not overboard. There's also Ruth Reichl. Who doesn't love Ruth Reichl? I also like the way Time Magazine's Leisa Tyler elaborates on her subject's cultural background and history, although she doesn't limit her writing to food. I think this is how DF would have envisioned real food writing to be because like art, food is a reflection of culture.

    You have your own food blog, Margauxlicious, but what are your favorite food blogs?

    I would NOT put my blog among anyone's favorite food blogs haha. I really don't know where bloggers get the stamina to maintain their blogs so I have tremendous respect for you guys. Non-Pinoy faves: I'm a big fan of Chubby Hubby and his wife S, Chez Pim, Rasa Malaysia, Tiger and Strawberrries and 101 Cookbooks Dito, Table for Three, Please, Wysgal's Rant and Raves, Tennis and Conversation, 80Breakfasts, Ramblings from a Gypsy Soul, Market Manila, Anton's Our Aweswome Plant ... naku, lahat na!

    Why did you decide to bring your Nana Meng's Tsokolate to the world?

    We have three people to thank: Nana Meng [her maternal grand aunt], my mom and Lala Ticzon, one of my best friends. I lived in Bulacan in 2003 and Nana Meng just fed and fed and fed me. I really got quite addicted to the tsokolate. I honestly would have it at least twice a day. In the afternoon I'd also add in a bit of coffee. And I'd have it with pandesal and kesong puti. Still do. Christmas 2003, Lala was into bazaars, selling children's clothes. I didn't want to sell clothes. To begin with, I don't even go shopping for myself. (I'm the kind who owns only two pairs of shoes and jeans until they wear out.) But I had been toying with the idea of branding the tsokolate and thought the bazaar would be a great opportunity to test the market. So my mom helped me out, since she and my Tita Cory had been bottling it and giving it away as a Christmas gift since maybe 1998. We joined the Angels Bazaar at Makati Sports. Mila was our first customer and we've been selling the tsokolate since!

    Of all products you sell at your shop, which do you love to eat/drink the most?

    You throw tough questions, my friend...Among the hot drinks, I would have to say...the Tsokolate Eh. Because it's the hardest to cook. And it's really way different from the tsokolate eh of other shops, even if I have to say so myself. It has egg, though, so for those who are allergic, be warned. If I had to buy a bottle though and make it at home, I would choose the Special Cashew Tsokolate because it's easy to cook and you have that hint of cashew in your tsokolate. Among the cold drinks, I like the Tsoko Nana Banana, a chocolate banana shake. To eat...I really love all of the Bulacan delicacies. If I had to choose though...it would have to be the Cassava Leche Flan. I like its texture and I have a sweet tooth!

    Which restaurant meal (foreign or local) do you remember the most?

    Well, on assignment, I tried dog stew at an obscure Korean restaurant near Rockwell once.

    Name your top five restaurants in Manila. Why are they your favorites?

    Top of mind, Lolo Dad's for French, Tsukiji for Japanese, Li Li for Chinese, Bistro Filipino by Chef Laudico for Pinoy, and L' Opera for Italian. Good food, good service, good setting and chefs/restaurateurs who take their food seriously. Out of town, of course, would be a different list.

    My personal favorites though, are different. I'm much less high brow. My faves would be Cosa Nostra, Mati, Uva, Ziggurat and Apartment 1B. Reasons would be coziness, great service, and menu variety. And for Apt 1B, the coffee, eggs benedict and (hehe) free wifi! No more Mati and Uva now though, boo hoo...I'd probably replace these with Akitaya on Milelong and Abe in Serendra.

    What junk food do you love?

    Pizza! Four or five cheese. And ice cream. Chocolate or strawberry. And popcorn. Microwavable salty popcorn. And fries. And cheap chips like Chippy—red, none of those new bastardized flavors—and Clover—barbecue. And chicken chicharon!

    Is there a food you just can't seem to enjoy?

    Ok, here's the big confession: I don't like white chocolate.

    You have done so much: broadcast journalist, lawyer, entrepreneur and even, congressional candidate. What's are the future plans of Margaux Salcedo ?

    I don't know...maybe Hollywood? Lol. My lips are sealed...also because I'm chewing. ;-)


    Nana Meng Tsokolate
    3rd level

    Glorietta IV

    (Near Food Choices)


    Market!Market!

    Activity Center

    (Near National Book Store)


    Salcedo Saturaday Market

    (Facing Leviste Street)

    Wednesday, September 12, 2007

    When a House Is Not a Home

    Photographs from La Maison
    from top left, clockwise
    Barkada Ribs, Oysters Royale, La Maison's Exteriors, Scallops Florentine

    When you first hear the name, La Maison, your mind begins to wander and wonder. French? Fine dining? Food with rich sauces and creams? But it's called The House? So it must be more homey, comforting? A french bistro perhaps? Frankly, I didn't know what to expect for a place called La Maison.

    Here is a confession of sorts. I hate surprises. Thus, when it comes to writing my restaurant impressions, I do my research. Yes, I know. By reading other people's opinions on any subject, I could end up tainting my own. But I would like to think that I do know that the opinion of single food blogger doesn't make (or break) a restaurant or that most newspaper food articles sound like glorified press releases. Both media must be read with a grain of kosher salt. Enough said.

    La Maison is not a Manila-based original. Established by the husband and wife team of Ray Alcoseba and Marissa Panganiban, this "casual French restaurant" opened its kitchen in Lahug, Cebu. Due to its initial success, a second branch opened at the Ayala Center Cebu soon after. In May this year, the couple, with the help of their Swedish chef and partner, Chef Robert Lilja took a leap and opened their Manila branch at the Ayala Trinoma Mall.

    There is a feeling of confusion with the interiors of this restaurant. On one side, there's an attempt to transport guests to a European home and yet on the other, the umbrella ceiling lamps and rattan furnishings bring you back into a more modern Pinoy reality. It's almost like the restaurateurs couldn't decide the direction to take with their restaurant's design.

    When an establishment declares that it is the "Home of the Best Ribs, Steaks and Seafood" right outside its doors, in large, bold letters, what you order becomes almost a no-brainer.

    We start with their seafood by ordering two appetizers, the Oyster Royale (P250) and Scallops Florentine (P290). In my opinion, both these dishes should be immediately renamed. The former Cheese Royale and the latter, Cream Florentine. Why? Because in both cases, A. and I couldn't tell if there actually was any seafood under all that Swiss cheese and spinach cream. Don't get me wrong, it's not that these dishes weren't good (if you like cheese and cream) but I personally prefer to be able to taste the seafood when i order seafood.

    Forging on, we settle upon trying their trademarked Barkada Ribs (P325). These pork ribs come in three different serving sizes: Regular, Large and Barkada. We chose the regular. When it arrived, we were shocked by the size of it. This is smallest? In front of us was a 400 gram slab of charred, barbecued meat. Cutting into this side of ribs, the meat seemed to slide off bones quite easily. A good sign. Not surprising, these ribs taste honey sweet with hints of chili heat. Although, my tastes run toward more spicy flavours, I imagine that most barkadas would devour these ribs with much gusto.

    A notable grace of this restaurant is the service. The waiting staff from the very moment you enter their establishment are prepared to serve. They are courteous, attentive and fairly knowledgeable about their restaurant and food they serve. They were never overtly hovering or obtrusive. The La Maison's service was above satisfactory.

    From the food to the interiors, La Maison attempts to make the fine dining experience more accessible and affordable. The restaurant's desire is to bring French inspired cuisine to a clientele who would not normally want or need to eat in an expensive and intimidating French brassiere. This goal although admirable does have its failings. By pandering too much to conventional tastes, the primary ingredients that make a memorable dining experience are lost in deluge of over sauced dishes and misaligned interiors.

    Would I return to La Maison? For now, as a personal preference, I think I'll be running away from home.

    La Maison
    2nd Level
    Ayala Trinoma Mall
    North Edsa, Quezon City
    Telephone: (02) 916 6351
    Telefax: (02) 916 7069

    Ayala Center Cebu
    Ayala Food and Entertainment Center
    Cebu City, Cebu
    Telephone: (032) 415-7077 to 78

    Saturday, September 8, 2007

    Table Suggestions: Nana Meng's Tsokolate

    Table Conversation: Nana Meng Tsokolate Filipino
    Tsokolate Goodness

    Remember those days when your grandmother would cook up a batch of fresh tsokolate from those little tablets and serve them steaming hot from her chocolatera? How she'd twirl the batirol until she got the right consistency of chocolate and milk to get that perfect, nutty cup?

    I don't.


    I grew up on Hershey's powdered chocolate drink and powdered milk. I still remember that what I loved most about the drink was actually the can, which was yellow and had a painting of a kid licking his lips, though in those days I thought his tongue was a piece of candy. That, and the fact that eating the raw stuff with powdered milk, chilled in the fridge, cemented my memories for the thing pretty much forever. That was my first culinary creation. Let's just say I've gotten better since then.


    Nana Meng's Tsokolate
    is an attempt to make what is a very involving process, that of making tsokolate, a little easier by turning the cacao tablets, or tablea, into a paste, complete with nuts. It's successful, but sadly, not if you follow the directions.


    I got the product and, forthwith, followed the directions to the letter, even to the point of using bakers measurements to ensure the accuracy of the portions. The result was extremely watered down and barely had any flavor of chocolate. However, I was impressed with the paste, since it smelled divine and promised great things if handled right. So, being by nature insubordinate, I decided to experiment.

    I suspected that the recipe on the bottle had too much water so I treated the product in two ways: one by reducing the water proportion while increasing the milk, the other by substituting milk entirely.

    The version I had the best results in was the one with water and milk, since the paste apparently doesn't dissolve very well in pure milk. Don't bother trying, it just tastes, well, milky. So, to get what I think is a better experience, use this per cup:
    • One tablespoon of the paste
    • 1/3 to 1/2 cup of water
    • 1/2 cup of milk (pure or full-cream evaporated)
    • sugar to taste.
    Dissolve the paste in the boiling water, then add the milk while stirring. Add sugar to taste. The less water, the less watery it tastes, obviously. So, lessen the proportions if you're still not happy, but make sure you have enough to dissolve the paste.
    Using this, I got a very satisfactory drink, with the right notes of traditional Filipino Chocolate and peanuts.

    That said, it's still quite a bit of work, since you have to do it over a stove. But, if getting a Filipino chocolate fix is what you're after, this does the job pretty well.

    Oh, and I tried mixing it with powdered milk and sticking it in the fridge. Bad idea. Get some Milo instead and stick that in the fridge. Works for me.

    Nana Meng Tsokolate
    3rd level
    Glorietta IV
    (Near Food Choices)


    Market!Market!
    Activity Center

    (Near National Book Store)


    Salcedo Saturaday Market

    (Facing Leviste Street)

    Thursday, September 6, 2007

    Table Suggestions: T3's The Food Samaritan

    http://www.summitmedia.com.ph/images/magcovers/hires_t3.jpg
    T3's September Issue

    No. Table for Three, Please has not gone soft porn...

    As most food bloggers will tell you, taking photos of your food is not simple. Shaky hands, bad lighting and increasingly irate dinner companions do not make a difficult situation any easier.

    Thankfully, the editors of T3 have most graciously recruited noted photographer, Kai Huang to teach us a little thing or two about "how to shoot food like a pro".

    So to you budding food photographers, we suggest you go out, buy a copy of this month's T3, turn to page 102, take notes and click away. Now, if they can just tell us how to avoid being stabbed with a fork by your impatient and starving friends.

    Tuesday, September 4, 2007

    Table Conversation : I Scream for Ice Cream

    Table Conversation: I Scream for Ice Cream
    from left to right
    Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough from Sebastian's, Pistachio Gelato from Gelantone
    Up All Night from Sebastian's, Panna Cotta Gelato from Pagliacci

    Hello. My name is Franco. I am an ice cream addict.

    If there was a Ice Cream Anonymous, I would be a charter member. My love for ice cream is that serious. It was bad (but so good) as child but as an adult (luck enough to own a Ice Cream Maker) it is a borderline obsession. Now, I am privileged to not only enjoy eating ice cream but also making it as well. When it comes to buying ice cream. I have a standing rule. I don't buy what I can make. Thus, for me to go out and buy a pint (or more), it has to be really good.

    I just made a batch of home made Dulce de Leche with Pecans for my sister's family. They loved it. My current store bought favorites are Sebastian's Ice Cream Up All Night (coffee flavored) and Butter Pecan. So when the craving for ice cream hits you, where do you go and what do you buy?

    Senor Macho says:
    Rustan's Supermarket to buy Ben & Jerry's Coffee Heath Bar Crunch or Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough. Because it's frequently unavailable, it makes me want it more. If those are not available, then default to Haagen-Dazs White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle or Dulce de Leche. The rest of the supermarket ice creams are for pigs. For me, there is no one else in the super premium ice cream category. The Sofitel [Philippine Plaza] chef makes outstanding ice cream with weirdasss flavors, none of which i can remember. But, who wants to drive to Sofitel? Last but really not least, the gelato selection of Amici's is great and affordable, as is their collection of 1960's style Italian liqueurs like Fernet-Branca(what a surprise, Italian priests making gelato and stashing liquor).
    Salamia says:
    FIC Mixed Berries or Magnolia Strawberry. My depression medicine used to be Belgian Chocolate of Haagen Dazs but now I find it too sweet.
    Watergirl says:
    My gut reaction to your question is Haagen Dazs. In the ice cream wars between HD and Ben and Jerry's, I'm in the former camp. Do I blame my mother who gave me a HD vanilla and almond bar the first day I moved to the US? Or the countless pints of coffee HD that sustained me through final exams in college? While I won't pass up Ben/Jerry's if offered I won't seek it out. I prefer the "less is more" approach that Haagen Dazs offers. Clean flavors, with premium ingredients. Each spoonful of Vanilla HD is like a drug.

    Table for 3 recently wrote up about Sebastian's Ice Cream of Ian Carandang. I met Ian through Lori Balthazar last year (at her cookbook swap), and have been thankful for that encounter. First of all, how many people out there make their own ice cream? And second, how many of those folks making ice cream are as obsessed as Ian? He's got the vision, he's got a feel for what makes ice cream lovers like me happy, and he's even willing to let us bug him with flavor requests when we have ingredients to spare. I've had Hazelnut and Fig ice cream flavors created by Ian. He doesn't fiddle with it by adding nonessential items; it's simple, luxurious, and fun.

    As for gelato, there are few purveyors of it in town, not all of them are consistently good - which is understandable since the quality of the ingredients is important in making small batches of gelato. For now, I find myself jonesing for the Lemon Sorbet at Gelantone. It's a flavor not a lot of Filipinos like because it's tart. But add it to the vanilla or one of the fruit based gelatos and you have a ray of sunshine in a cup. What better way to hide from work, traffic, noise and life in general than by sitting inside their little store and tucking into a double scoop, watching people walk by. And if you can't afford a double scoop, much less one scoop at Gelantone, a less expensive option is over at Amici on Pasay Road, which sells a scoop for P45. Just don't get the coffee! I find it has a weird taste of cigarette butts. I've enjoyed their Pistachio, Chocolate, and Rum flavors.
    Anton says:
    Any Chocolate Flavor from Sebastian's Ice Cream, Hazelnut Gelato from Angelati Gelato, Lemon Gelato from Gelatone, Ferrero Crunch Supreme from Five Cows, Pistachio Ice Cream from Better than Ice Cream
    ChichaJo says:
    I'm not the kind of person who can have ice cream everyday but when I find myself wanting some I like to buy gelato...I find it less cloying then regular ice cream. I used to just get some at Pazzo (in Rockwell) but now there are more gelato places opening. Good for me! Hehe :) And although I will peruse each and every flavor when I go, I will more often than not, end up getting Chocolate, the darker the better. Of course, this was all before Sebastian's Chocoholics Anonymous entered my life (Hi! My name is Joey and I'm a chocoholic!). Dark as sin and more chocolate-y than any other local ice cream I've tried...it is truly a miracle in chocolate. Sebastian's Butter Pecan is another favorite...tastes like actual butter, instead of just sugar!

    Stich says:
    Depends. For Gelato, it's the Biscotti from Pazzo. For ordinary ice cream, it used to be the Pistachio from FIC, though now any damn flavor from Sebastian's has my vote.
    Kate says:
    Before: Rustan's to buy Ben & Jerry's Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough
    Now: Sebastian's Ice Cream Studio at The Podium to buy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough
    Always: Raspeberry Sorbet from Haagen Dazs and Gelantone (I'm a creature of habit)
    Thanks to Senor Macho, Salamia, Watergirl, Anton, ChichaJo, Stich and Kate for sharing their ice cream/gelato favs.